Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A good book for helping if a person has incontinence.

A good book for helping if a person has incontinence.

Alright, this is not the topic for a shrinking violet. If it bothers you, get over it. One-quarter to 45% of all women will suffer from urinary incontinence. In July, 2010, I had Retropubic Suspension to help me with my incontinence. That helped, but it didn’t make it perfect.

I then looked into Sacral Nerve Stimulation. Medtronic was the company the urologist I went to uses. They put a temporary pacemaker in and it worked. But it hurt like hell putting the lead into the sacral nerve. I was awake. But they had a very nice woman that I spoke with everyday paid for by Medtronic. She was a great cheerleader and very nice. But I wondered about it because she worked for the company and not the doctor. How much did this cost anyway?

So off to google I went. Guess what? It costs about $25K and it has to be replaced every 18-36 months. What? No wonder they hire someone full-time to assist patients in making up their minds. So I decided to wait. Then I talked to a friend of mine from law school. His wife had had the surgery and she said if she had understood what was entailed she would not have had the surgery because if hurt so badly having it done. You see, you have to be awake to have the doctor get it in place.

So then I got The Bathrrom Key That really helped. Part of the problem I had was that when I’d squeeze to try and not go to the bathroom, I was squeezing the wrong place. I thought I squeezed around my urethra. No, you squeeze your pelvic floor muscles to keep from going to the bathroom, which seems counter intuitive. But ti works. So that helped a lot and I haven’t even finished reading it.

But there was still a little bit of a problem left. Not everyday. Just once-in-awhile. But that was too often. I knew caffeine affects the bladder. In fact, it seems like caffeine has a higher incidence for incontinence than anything else, including childbirth.  Caffeine irritates your bladder.  Coffee is slightly acidic, which can help change the PH in your bladder.

Artificial Sweeteners also can bother your bladder. So can carbonated drinks. So can. . . you get my drift.

First I gave up anything with artificial sweeteners in them. Then I gave up carbonated drinks. Once in awhile I drink La Croix, which is sparkling water,  has no caffeine and no artificial sweetners.  This was relatively easy. Then I gave up my morning coffee. Yep. For real. I now have maybe two cups of decaf a week. I do still drink green or white tea, but the amount of caffeine in green or white tea  is minuscule compared to coffee.

Since I did this, I am almost cured. Literally. In about two months. And everyday it gets better. I don’t regret any of the steps I’ve taken. They have all helped. I’d do them all over again. But first, I’d start with the coffee, the sweeteners  and the carbonated beverages. Then the book. Finally, I’d have the surgery. But I’d want to do everything as natural as possible. So this is my incontinence journey. I thought long and hard before sharing, but since the problem affects so many women, I thought I should come out of the bathroom and into the light.

