Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My Homemade Bread – I took this picture to post to Facebook, not dreaming I would have my own GF blog!

This is my first blog post of my newest blog. Woo Hoo! It is also about my journey of learning how to cook and live Gluten-Free. That’s easier said than done. Gluten is insidious and EVERYWHERE. For example, soy sauce. Most soy sauce has wheat in it. Who would have guessed that? Or imitation crab? It’s filled with gluten. So gluten is hidden in many products and for me, it has take quite a long time to eradicate it fully from my diet. I am stubborn and was a pathetic eater prior to developing a gluten intolerance. Maybe God had a plan when He made me Gluten Free.

So first, why the “Gluten Free Legal Eagle” as a name. Well, I’m a law student (hopefully soon to be a lawyer) and all the other good names were taken. Like I’m a Diva. Whoops, Gluten Free Diva or Gluten Free Goddess were taken. Evil wenches. So, I started thinking. Then googling. And guess what? Nobody else was the “Gluten Free Legal Eagle.” So voila! A new persona was born.

But let’s get something straight. There is nothing, NOTHING, in my life that doesn’t at least cause me mention God from time-to-time. So if a casual mention of the God-word offends, go find another Gluten-free cook to emulate. Because I will probably offend you. I’m not meaning to, but He’s my best friend. So, I want to be able to talk about my BFF. That’s right, I just referred to God as my BFF.

So now that introductions are over, on with my favorite Gluten Free bread recipe.

GLUTEN FREE FLOUR MIXTURE

  • 3 cups Garfava Bean Flour
  • 1 cup Sorghum Flour
  • 4 cups Tapioca Flour
  • 2 cups cornstarch
  • 1 cup potato startch
  • ½ cup Bisquick (Gluten Free) (if you don’t have it use 1/2 c. of rice flour + 1 T. baking powder)
  • 3 T. xanthan gum
  • 1 T. salt
  • 1 T. egg replacer
  • 2 envelopes unflavored gelatin

Mix well.  The approximate calories per cup are 333. Regular white flour contains 452 per cup.

GLUTEN FREE BREAD

  • 3 T. dry yeast granules (don’t bother with the packages, they are a waste of money. I buy it in bulk at Sams Club.)
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups warm water (warm on your wrist, your body temperature is 98.6, so warm, about 105- 110 degrees)
  • 3 T. coconut oil
  • 1/2 t. vinegar (I use balsamic or red wine but any kind will do)
  • 1 T. sugar
  • 2 1/4 cups flour mixture
  • 1 egg + 1 egg whites
  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. Grease loaf pan with butter (I use Smart Balance). Then flour with rice flour
  3. In a large mixing bowl add flour. Set aside.
  4. In a small mixing bowl, mix yeast and 1/2 c. of water. Add sugar, Wait until it bubbles up.
  5. Add coconut oil, vinegar, and eggs. Mix well.
  6. Add wet ingredients to flour. Slowly add in the rest of the flour until the dough is about the consistency of cake batter – not the normal consistency of bread batter. I beat it by hand with a spatula for about 2-3 minutes to make sure it’s really mixed, but this isn’t rocket science. Use common sense.
  7. Pour into prepared loaf pan and set aside until the batter rises to the rim of the pan (depends a lot on the humidity and the heat). 10-60 minutes.
  8. Bake for 10 minutes.  Cover with aluminum foil and bake 40 more minutes.

If you cut it into 10 slices (thick) then there is 126 calories per piece. If you use a sugar substitute (I actually use Xyla) then it will be a little less. Thinner pieces will be less. The whole of the loaf is 1260 using real sugar. Adjust accordingly.

So there you have it – my favorite bread recipe.

