Tags

, , , , , ,

As I go on my gluten-free road, I thought I might share a few recipes I invent as time goes on. Yes, invent. That’s me – the recipe inventress. Whoops, that’s probably not a word but who cares? It’s my blog right? Okay, I just invented a Quinoa Meat Pie. Here’s my recipe. It is similar to a Chicken Pot Pie only healthier.

PREHEAT OVEN TO 350.

Quinoa Mix

  • 1 c. quinoa, uncooked
  • 1 can tomato sauce with jalapenos
  • 3/4 c. orange juice
  • water to top off the orange juice and tomato sauce to 2 1/3 cups
  • 1 t. allspice
  • 1 t. cumin
  • 1 t. rosemary
  • 2 T. Barbecue sauce (I use Ray’s b/c it’s GF)
  • 1/4 c. tapioca flour
  • 1 egg
  1. Cook Quinoa in water, tomato sauce and orange juice. Add spices while cooking.
  2. After cooking, when most of the liquid is absorbed, pull from stove and tapioca flour and egg.

WHILE QUINOA IS COOKING:  Grease a pan (I used a 8×10 glass pan). Flour it with rice flour. Make crust. (Note: Did you know that you measure a pan across the top and not the bottom? I wasn’t sure so I googled it and found Cake Hints. Of course, this was after measuring the pan several times, trying to figure out what to say.)

Crust

  1. Cut butter into flour until it is the size of peas
  2. Add egg
  3. Press into bottom of greased and floured pan.

Meat Mixture

  • 1 lb. chicken, cut small
  • 1/4 c. chili powder (may use taco seasoning, or any other type of seasoning you want)
  • 1/2 c. pineapple juice
  1. Marinate chicken in juice and seasoning for at least an hour.
  2. Spoon meat onto crust.
  3. Spoon Quinoa mixture onto meat as a top

Bake at 350 for 50 minutes.

Serves 6. With 1/4 c. butter (I use Smart Balance Light)  it has 378 calories. With 1/3 c. add 16 calories per serving. With other butters subtract 200 calories for the whole [2268-200=2068] and add your butter and divide by 6.

