Tags

, , , , , , ,

A few weeks ago when I was compiling my GF alcohol list, I came across the name Frangelico. Of course I had heard of it, but I had no idea what it was. So, the next time I went to the liquor store, I bought some. You know me, ever so adventurous. Well, this is a yummy adventure. As I opened the bottle, I realized that there could be no tampering. This is one of the hardest bottles I’ve ever broken into. But then I poured this smooth, hazelnut liquid into a brandy sniffer, and it was so-o-o worth it.

Frangelico is a liqueur that is produced in the Piedmont district of Northern Italy. The creation of Frangelico is attributed to the monks that have been living in the region for 300 years. Hence, the rope tied about the bottle, reminiscent of the cincture that monks wear. Legend has it that the liqueur was invented by Fr. [Father] Angelico, who is rumored to have lived in the hills of Piedmont in the 17th century.

Frangelico is an infusion of hazelnuts mixed into alcohol. This would have lost me, because I am a GF-nazi, but I have been drinking it all week with no negative consequences. The Frangelico Web site claims it is GF, but well, I don’t believe everything I read. I do believe my body, since I have had reactions to tons of allegedly GF things because I am so sensitive. In fact, I have had reactions to things below 8 ppm and I had no reactions at all with this.

This chart is taken from the Frangelico site:

Serving size: 1fl oz
Calories 63.2 K/cal
Total Fat 0g
Cholesterol 0mg
Total Carbohydrate 11.7g
Dietary fibre 0g
Protein 0g
Calcium 0%
Caffeine 1.5 mg/l
