Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have made stuffed mushrooms quite a few times over the last few months and every time they have been a hit. I also do them with slight variations, depending upon the audience. One of my basic ingredients is anchovies (unless my guest is vegan), which I know has readers going “ew!” But I have consistently used them and consistently gotten rave reviews about them. I actually wash the oil off of them and pat them dry, cutting them teeny, so that is has a slight undertone. I have had people ask me if it was crab or shrimp. So without further ado, stuffed mushrooms.

Stuffed Mushrooms (Basic recipe, non-vegan)

Preheat oven to 350.

  • 3 large Portabella mushrooms or about 20 small ones
  • 1 can anchovies, drained, washed, and cut small
  • 2 pieces bacon, fried and crumbled
  • 4 pieces thinly sliced prosciutto, cut small
  • 4 green onions, diced
  • 1` package cream cheese
  • Sesame oil (optional0
  • Truffle oil (optional)
  1. Mix all the ingredients together. I use my hands.
  2. Clean mushrooms and remove stems. Save for another recipe later.
  3. Rub the top of the cap of each mushroom with sesame oil.
  4. Spoon mixture into mushrooms.
  5. Place in baking pan. Put a dot or two of truffle oil on top.
  6. Bake at 350for 30 minutes.

Vegan Variations

Regular Variations

  • Use another meat, like hot Capocolla or Canadian Bacon
  • Add Artichoke Hearts, chopped fine
  • Add nuts
  • Bake with cheese on top
  • Add jalapenos
  • Add olives

In other words, the sky is the limit. Have fun in the kitchen!

 

