Tags

, , ,

Preheat oven to 425.

Crust

  1. In a large mixing bowl cut butter into flour until the size of small peas or lentils.
  2. Add water and mix thoroughly.
  3. If you can roll it out, go for it. I am completely incapable of using a rolling pin for cooking. It always sticks to the pin, the cookie cutter or whatever. So, I press it into the bottom of the pie pan.
  4. Bake at 425 for 8 minutes.

Note: I have tried using other flours, but for some reason they don’t turn out flaky and light. Also, they go hard quickly. So I stick with this, even though it’s a bit sticky.

Filling

  • 2 pints blueberries (4 cups)
  • juice of 2 limes
  • 1/4 c. coconut sugar
  • 2 T. honey
  • 1/4 c. flour
  1. Check all of the blueberries to make sure there are no stems.
  2. Combine all ingredients and stir well. Put in pie crust.

Top Crust

  • 1 c. brown sugar
  • 1/3 c. flour
  • 1/4 shortening or butter, warm

Since I cannot make a rolled crust, I cannot make a top crust. So years ago I invented this crust to make it pretty and yummy and taking into account my own failings.

  1. Microwave the butter and sugar together
  2. Stir well and add the floor.
  3. Spoon on top of the blueberries in the crust.

Bake all of it at 425 for 50 minutes.

