Tags

, ,

As you all have read by now, Amaretto, as commercially prepared, may be made from a glutenous grain. Or it may not. No one really knows, except for the distiller. As you all should know, I take no chances. If it is 20 ppm, I react. If it it 5 ppm, I don’t. So, I have to be extremely careful. I take no chances.

I actually have 2 recipes for Amaretto – both are yummy. It depends upon how strong you want it.

Amaretto #1

  • 1 c. water
  • 1 c. white sugar (or Truvia or Xylitol or whatever)
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1 c. Tito’s Vodka
  • 2 T. almond extract
  • 2 t. vanilla extract
  1. Mix sugars and water in saucepan. Bring to a boil until all the sugar dissovles.
  2. Cool 10 minutes or more.
  3. Add Tito’s Vodka, vanilla and almond extracts. Let cool to room temperature. Salute.

Amaretto #2 – The Strong One

  • 1 c. water
  • 1 c. white sugar
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 2 c. 151 rum
  • 2 T. almond extract
  • 2 t. vanilla extract

Prepare as above. L’Chaim.

