Tags

, ,

This is a healthy cold meal for those hot days of summer.

  • 1 c. uncooked quinoa
  • 2 1/2 c. cold water
  • 1/3 c. red onion, diced
  • 2/3 c. cucumber, diced
  • 3/4 c. tomato, diced
  • 3 T. fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 2 1/2 T. olive oil
  • juice of 1 lime or 1/2 lemon
  • 1 T. red wine vinegar (or vinegar of your choice)
  • 1/2 t. salt (optional)
  • 4 avocados, halved and pitted
  1. Cook quinoa. I cook mine the day before or early in the morning, the day I prepare this recipe. It is a chilled salad, so it needs to be cold.
  2. When you are ready to cook it, fluff with fork and add onion, cucumber, tomato, cilantro, olive oil, lime juice, vinegar and salt. Mix well.
  3. Spoon into avocados. Serve chilled

Note: Since I live alone and this makes a lot of Quinoa Salad, I was getting bored, so I went back to the recipe-board.

Slice the avocado and put on plate. Mix Quinoa Salad with your favorite sauce (I used Paula Deen’s Vidalia Onion Peach Sauce) and served on top of the avocado.

