Tags

, , ,

As you know, I am a big proponent of no-risk eating and drinking. In other words, I am not willing to have ANYTHING that might ahve gluten in it. So, since most Creme de Menthe is made from potentially glutenous grain, I have to make my own. I am also just concerned about anything unnecessary, hence, the calling the green food coloring optional. For a purist who has to have it BE green, well, add the green food coloring. For those like myself who are after taste and not color, leave it out.

  • 2 c. sugar
  • 2 c. water
  • 2 c. vodka (I use Tito’s Vodka)
  • 1  T. peppermint extract
  • 1 T. green food coloring (optional)
  1. Heat sugar and water until sugar melts. Doesn’t have to boil.
  2. Cool about 10 minutes.
  3. Add vodka and mint extract.
  4.  Enjoy.

This is great to add for an adult hot chocolate!

Note:: Mint Extract is an oil so there will be a slight separation issue, but the taste is fine. Just remember there will be a bit of oil on top.

