Tags

, , , , ,

My daughter Sarah’s birthday is coming up and about half the time she is vegetarian or vegan. Just depends on the day or the food. So I wanted something vegan on the off-chance it was a vegan day.

Cupcakes

  • 1 c. almond milk
  • 1 t. vinegar
  • 1/4 c. tapioca starch
  • 1/2 c. sorghum flour
  • 1 c. almond flour
  • 3/4 t. baking powder
  • 3/4 t. baking soda
  • 1/2 t. xanthan gum
  • 1/4 t. salt
  • 1/3 c. cocoa powder
  • 1/2 c. maple syrup
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 1 t. almond extract
  • 1/2 c. coconut oil, melted
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. In a bowl mix the almond milk and vinegar together. Let stand for five minutes to make a “buttermilk.”
  3. In the meantime, sift the dry ingredients together. I should have done this but I don’t have a sifter so I’m SOL. I also should have used a mixer but I didn’t think about it. Next time. Maybe.
  4. Mix all of the wet ingredients with the buttermilk.
  5. Pour the buttermilk mix into the dry mix or vice versa (I did the former but I don’t think it matters all that much).
  6. This is where I should have used my mixer. Oh well, next time.
  7. Line a muffin pan with liners and fill 3/4 of the way up.
  8. Bake at 350 for 20-24 minutes. Check with a toothpick or a knife or whatever you usually use to determine if something is fully cooked.

NOTE: Cocoa powder is vegan. It is only when it is processed as milk chocolate or other types of chocolate.

More Notes:  It is moist and rich so it is really good. Since it is vegan and doesn’t even have processed sugar in it, I think it is beyond wonderful.

