Tags

, , , , , , ,

2012-12-11 12.10.46

Alright, as I told you before I am a modified vegan or a dairy-free vegetarian or whatever you want to call it. That means I don’t eat meat but I eat fish, I don’t eat dairy, and I don’t eat gluten (that one should be a duh? by now.)

One of the things I do before every test is eat fish. If I have a morning test, I eat it the night before. If I have a evening or afternoon test, I have it for lunch. So, I was eating Salmon before my test (and yesterday I had ahi tuna and swai, so shoot me, I eat a lot of fish). My mother always said it was “brain food” and according to UC-Berkeley it is probably good for your brain. Also, studies have begun to link eating fish with NOT being depressed. In other words, fish really does a body good.

One thing I really like about this recipe, is it’s naturally sweet and sour, because of the lemon juice and coconut. It’s a really nice mix.

  • 1 piece of fish
  • 1 t. olive oil
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1 T. coconut flakes
  1. In a small frying pan combine the lemon juice and olive oil. Mix. Lay the fish in the mixture and leave marinate about 10-15 minutes.
  2. Turn on heat. This does not require a lot of heat. I cooked it on low-medium which in this case, if the dial on my stove was an hour, would be at the 45 minute mark.
  3. When the salmon has turned light brown about 1/2 inch on that side, flip it over. Add the coconut on top. Let the outside cook brown all the way through, but just. That way the fish will be cooked about medium, which is actually what a good salmon or ahi tuna should be cooked (if that much).
  4. Remove and put on plate. Pour leftover lemon juice on top of the coconut.

Note: This is for one serving because I live alone. You can of course double it or triple it or whatever.

