Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Weight Loss Week 4

Well, I am still progressing. Not as fast as I’d like, about 2-3 lbs per week. I had a 9 lb loss in the beginning and then the last 9 lbs or so have averaged about 2-3 lbs per week. I of course wanted to lose 28 lbs by this coming Monday, and it’s not going to happen. [sigh] But I did want to share a few things I have learned over years of dieting.

The first thing I have learned is when you cheat on your diet, you cheat yourself. What, cheat? Me, never. Have you ever gone to Sam’s and had a sample and didn’t log it because it wasn’t THAT many calories? Right. Cheating. Have you ever been measuring a tablespoon and a little more came out and rounded you tablespoon and you didn’t write it down. Right. Cheating. You get my drift. If you are eating x-number of calories per day, and you have done any of these, you have cheated. Yourself. Right yourself. Because you are slowing or eradicating your success. Let me say that again: YOU are slowing or eradicating YOUR SUCCESS! No one else is doing it. It’s not that you have a slow metabolism, it’s you cheat! I cheat! Not hardly anymore, but we all have done it. I’ve gotten pretty good, because I want success.

Another thing I have learned about cheating, is if you’re going to cheat, cheat high not low. So, if you’re eating something and you’re not sure how many calories it has, and you can’t find anything on MyFitnessPal, guess high. For example, if you think something probably has 150 calories in it, but you’re not sure, put down 200 or 250. That way if you’re right, you’re under for the day. That way if you’re wrong, you’re not out anything. And always, always figure if you’re eating out that there are mega-hidden calories lurking in whatever it is you’re eating.

Finally though, if you are going to cheat, cheat on something that doesn’t matter. For example, if you are eating a salad with oil and vinegar on it, measure the oil and guess on the vinegar. That way if you’re off, you’re off by a few calories, not a lot of calories. I mean, 1 T. of balsamic vinegar has 10 calories; 1 T. of oil has 120. Big difference.

Note: I am going on an extended trip on Sunday. First I head to Arkansas to catch a plane. Then I spend Monday evening until Tuesday morning in an airport. Then I head to the Cayman Islands for a study abroad. And I have $400 to spend. I have the big things covered. The hotel provides a continental breakfast but as you know, that can be a glutenous haven. I bet they have fruit though. My smimming with the dolphins is covered. So, this will be an exercise in how to eat healthy on a shoestring. So I imagine much of my posts over the next few weeks will be about eating cheaply as you travel or will be a post I’ve already written.

Namaste and happy gluten free dieting.

