Tags

, ,

The opened young coconut and the meat cleaver

The opened young coconut and the meat cleaver

About a week ago I bought a young coconut. I had fallen in love with them in the Cayman Islands. There a man, armed with a machete, chops the top off and puts a straw in the coconut. So I bought two things: a young coconut and a meat cleaver. I must say if you are going to buy one of these items, go to the Asian district. I bought a nice cleaver that had a weighted handle for $7.99. I bought the young coconut for under $2 (I don’t remember the exact price).

So today I tried it.  I didn’t find the You Tube video below, but it is also a good way to do it. I just copied the men in the Cayman Islands, albeit with a smaller knife (machetes are bigger than meat cleavers).

http://kimberlysnyder.net/blog/2012/03/13/how-to-open-and-eat-a-young-coconut/

After I proudly and successfully opened it, I poured the coconut juice into a glass and scooped the meat out to make coconut bacon (which is of course another blog).

Getting the coconut meat out.

Getting the coconut meat out.

