Tags

, , , , ,

2013-04-07 17.11.29Admittedly, this is just doubling my recipe for Chocolate Rum Cake (Vegan) and I was doubling it. However, cooking time had to be increased, along with I invented a new icing (which is yum). So I decided for those of you who want a larger cake, here it is.

Cake

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Combine all ingredients except for the rum.  You can modify the sugars if you want. This is what I used by default, I didn’t have enough white sugar or coconut sugar to do it any other way.
  3. Mix the dough with a mixer until it is thoroughly mixed. It will be almost like a bread batter thickness – it’s definitely too thick for a cake, but I want it thick so that when I let it cool and pour the rum on it it will absorb. Spread in an 10×13 cake pan.
  4. Bake for 45 minutes. Set a timer and do not look at it.
  5. Let cool. I tend to be in a hurry and stick it in the freezer for 30 minutes or so. The cake has to be cool or the alcohol will evaporate.
  6. Poke holes in the cake with a toothpick. Pull the cake away from the sides to allow the rum to soften the corners.
  7. Pour rum over cake.
  8. Let sit overnight. Ice with Cream Cheese Whipped Frosting.

Icing

Put mixing bowls and mixing attachments in freezer for at least 15 minutes.

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl. Whip until it is whipped and smooth. Ice cake.

