Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

French Laundry Sashimi from Meiji

French Laundry Sashimi from Meiji

I don’t know about you, but I, like many, many people in America struggle with too many calories and too much eating out (which translates into too much wasted spending). Well, over the last couple of years, since my eating out has grown, the quality of food has declined – or maybe my palate has become pickier. Whatever the case, I have been beating myself up for eating out because of the calories and the money. I imagine many of you are doing the same thing too. I mean, all too often, after I eat, I realize that my taste buds weren’t really satisfied and I feel cheated by myself.

2 rolls from Meiji

2 rolls from Meiji

I’ve discovered that very few restaurants are worth the money.  A few are. For example, Meiji in Fayetteville, Arkansas is one of the best sushi restaurants ever. Keep in mind, sushi is my favorite food and I eat it everywhere. Thai Diner in Fayetteville, Arkansas has some of the best Thai food (their sushi is only “good” though). Saii in Oklahoma City is the best in the city and is good. Legal Seafoods is worthwhile. Las Culebrinos in Coral Gables, Florida, Cali Cafe in Doral, Florida (which has gone out of business), and the American Grill at L’Enfant Plaze [Hotel] in Washington, D.C. are just a few of the really good ones. There’s a few more, but these stand out in my mind over all the other meals I’ve ever had.

Saii in OKC

Saii in OKC

So how do I spend and eat less? I don’t know how many meals I’ve eaten and afterwards thought “thatwas half a pedi.” But I know I am going to spend it. So I’ve come up with a new idea. If I put in mysavings account the money I would spend on eating out and use it for something I really want, then maybe, I’ll eat out less. For example, today is dollar tacos at Hugo’s Taquiza. Instead of going to Hugo’s, I’m transferring $3.25 to my savings account. So I’m trying. I don’t know if it will work, but I know that when I was teaching smoking cessation it is something that works for smoking. Smoking is an addiction, overeating is an addiction, let’s try it. So far, my bank account is a wee bit bigger and I’m back to losing weight. Let’s just see how it goes.

(BTW can you see a pattern in what my favorite food is? Yes, fish. I love fish).

Salmon at L'Enfant Plaza in DC

Salmon at L’Enfant Plaza in DC

