Tags

, , , ,

2013-04-15 17.29.00As we know, I love fried eggplant. But obviously, I’m not going to eat an entire eggplant in one meal (unless it is the meal). So, I fried it all and saved the leftovers for Eggplant Parmesan. I even invited a friend for dinner and she loved it.

Ingredients

  • About 1/2 an eggplant, fried in slices (see my recipe for Fried Eggplant.)

    2013-04-15 16.12.30

    This is the first layer with provolone. Don’t worry about how it looks at this stage – go for coverage. It will be covered and melted and no one will be the wiser.

  • Mozarella Cheese
  • Provolone Cheese (optional)
  • Marinara Sauce of your choice (I used Bertolli Vodka Sauce – we can argue whether or not it is GF later, I can argue both ways)
  • Italian Seasoning
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Put a layer of eggplant in a baking dish. Add cheese. This is where I used the provolone, but you can opt to use the mozzarella if you like.
  3. Add another layer of eggplant. If this is your final layer (as it was mine) then add the Bertolli Vodka Sauce and then mozzarella cheese.
  4. Sprinkle with Italian Seasoning.
  5. Bake for  35 minutes at 350.
This is before baking

This is before baking

